Our governance

The National Council for Voluntary Organisations (NCVO) is a charitable company limited by guarantee incorporated and registered in England under company number 198344. It was founded in 1919 as the National Council of Social Services, incorporated on 30 May 1924 and registered as a charity on 1 January 1964. It is governed by its articles of association (PDF, 300KB) and detailed regulations made under the articles.

NCVO’s registered office address is Society Building, 8 All Saints Street, London N1 9RL.

NCVO is registered with the Charity Commission under number 225922.

Annual reports

Members' Assembly

The assembly ensures that NCVO members are represented and involved in our work.

Our 50-strong assembly reflects the breadth of NCVO's membership acting as a forum to contribute to the development of NCVO and advise the board on sector policy issues.


The president of NCVO is Baroness Grey-Thompson. The president acts as an ambassador for NCVO and is elected by the members for a non-renewable term of five years.

Baroness Grey-Thompson is Britain's greatest Paralympic athlete, winning eleven gold medals over five Paralympic Games, and now sits in the House of Lords as a crossbench peer with specialist interest in sport, disability, health and youth development.

Since retiring from athletics, Baroness Grey-Thompson has been active in speaking out on issues including benefit reform and accessible transport. During heated debates in the House of Lords, she has been instrumental in moving several amendments to the Welfare Reform Bill, making insightful contributions and pushing the Government to make concessions.

Baroness Grey-Thompson has a longstanding association with NCVO and the wider voluntary sector, and was appointed as the president of the Leadership 20:20 Commission for developing emerging leaders in civil society in 2011. She is patron of numerous charities including Sportsleaders UK and is a trustee of V, the charity that helps young people become volunteers. As well as this she is the patron of the Jane Tomlinson Appeal and is a board member of the Tony Blair Sports Foundation.

Trustee Board

Our 12 Trustees comprise three honorary officers (chair, vice chair and treasurer). The chair, treasurer and seven trustees are directly elected from the membership. Three trustees are co-opted by the board to ensure the right mix of skills and experience. One of the trustees is elected to the position of vice chair honorary officer by the board. Trustees serve for a term of three years, with a maximum of two terms to be served.

The trustee board appoints three committees to support its work. Full committee membership details are available in our annual reports.

Nominations Committee

Facilitates diversity in the governance structure, ensures the right mix of skills and experience, and supervises the democratic process.

HR and Remuneration Committee

Sets the chief executive and the directors' remuneration, and considers HR policy and related matters, including pensions

Audit and Risk Committee

Provides independent advice and assurance on risk, control and governance matters.


If you have any questions on our governance please This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

NCVO is committed to providing high quality services. If you are unhappy about any of the services that we provide to you we want to hear about it. Without your feedback we cannot improve.

Site by Clickingmad